Climate Change Risk Assessment and Adaptation

Changes in our climate are a serious and present danger for communities in the Northern Territory. A number of our communities are already feeling the effects with warming temperatures and more severe weather events. Of major concern is the expected increase in climate variability and extreme weather, causing floods, droughts and storms. Even small shifts in average temperature could have large implications for existing infrastructure.

In 2009 LGANT worked with a number of councils to develop climate change risk assessment and adaptation plans. This project sought to address the vulnerability of communities in the remote inland and coastal areas of the Northern Territory top end.

We hope to extend this project across the entire Northern Territory, to make sure all councils have an opportunity to assess the risks posed by climate change and plan for the future climate.

This project aimed to achieve three objectives:

  1. Undertake a risk assessment at the community level
  2. Initiate a community awareness program
  3. Develop an action plan for climate change adaptation

Key benefits of the project included:

  • A better understanding of the vulnerability of communities to climate change with a ranking of the most threatening risks;
  • A more resilient community through awareness and engagement in the risk assessment and adaptation plan processes; and
  • Constructing a strong basis of knowledge regarding climate change impacts to take into account these issues in strategic planning and integrate this local project in any future Northern Territory initiative

The final reports are available below:

Belyuen Climate Change Risk Assessment (3.7 MiB)

Coomalie Climate Change Risk Assessment (5.9 MiB)

East Arnhem Climate Change Risk Assessment (5.6 MiB)

Tiwi Islands Climate Change Risk Assessment (4.0 MiB)

Wagait Climate Change Risk Assessment (4.0 MiB)

West Arnhem Climate Change Risk Assessment (7.0 MiB)

Funded with the assistance of the Australian Government Department of Climate Change and Energy Efficiency.